Top Fifty Posts

mickyates ContextualResearch, Critical Research Journal, FinalMajorProject, FMPWeek24, Project Development Leave a Comment

Quick links to some of the most ‘influential’ of my posts of the past two years, in terms of either moving my thinking forward or building my practice.

………………………..

Mick Yates. 2019. Unfinished Stories. BRLSI, Bath.

Final Major Project

A Constructed Image: https://www.yatesweb.com/a-constructed-image/

A Research-Led Practice: https://www.yatesweb.com/a-research-led-practice/

Auschwitz and Memory: https://www.yatesweb.com/photographs-with-text/

Cambodia Project Ethics: https://www.yatesweb.com/cambodia-project-ethics/

Deleuze, Time and Archives: https://www.yatesweb.com/deleuze-time-and-archives/

Ethics of Photography – Participation: https://www.yatesweb.com/ethics-of-photography-participation/

Journalistic Ethics: https://www.yatesweb.com/journalist-ethics/

Lewis Bush – Storytelling Workshop: https://www.yatesweb.com/lewis-bush-storytelling-workshop/

Narrative versus Story: https://www.yatesweb.com/narrative-versus-story/

Notes on Paul Martin Lester’s ‘Visual Ethics’: https://www.yatesweb.com/notes-on-paul-martin-lesters-visual-ethics/

Photographs with Text: https://www.yatesweb.com/photographs-with-text/

Place and Placelessness: https://www.yatesweb.com/place-and-placelessness/

Reflections on Paradox – Curation: https://www.yatesweb.com/reflections-on-paradox-curation/

Socially-Engaged Photography: https://www.yatesweb.com/socially-engaged-photography/

Stereotypes and Navajo: https://www.yatesweb.com/stereotypes-and-navajo/

What is Good? https://www.yatesweb.com/what-is-good/

What is Truth? https://www.yatesweb.com/what-is-truth/

FMP Pecha Kucha

FMP Project Proposal

FMP Critical Review

FMP Final Submission

FMP Grades

………………………..

Raymond Depardon, Magnum Photos. 1987. Gilles Deleuze. Paris. 

Informing Contexts

A Question of Authenticity: https://www.yatesweb.com/a-question-of-authenticity/

Allan Sekula – Fish Story, and Critical Realism: https://www.yatesweb.com/allan-sekula-fish-story-and-critical-realism/

Baudrillard and Simulacrum: https://www.yatesweb.com/baudrillard-and-simulacrum/

Dorothea Lange: https://www.yatesweb.com/dorothea-lange/

Facts and Ethics (Wittgenstein): https://www.yatesweb.com/facts-and-ethics/

Gilbert Ryle: https://www.yatesweb.com/week-twelve-reflections/

Infrared photography: https://www.yatesweb.com/infrared-photography/

Photographing the Holocaust (Janina Struk): https://www.yatesweb.com/photographing-the-holocaust-janina-struk/

Provoke: https://www.yatesweb.com/provoke/

Realism and Imagination: https://www.yatesweb.com/realism-and-imagination/

Sebastião Selgado: https://www.yatesweb.com/sebastiao-salgado/

Soviet Holocaust Photography: https://www.yatesweb.com/soviet-holocaust-photography/

The Index and the Icon: https://www.yatesweb.com/the-index-and-the-icon/

The Vernacular Landscape – and Intention: https://www.yatesweb.com/the-vernacular-landscape/

What is Street Photography? https://www.yatesweb.com/what-is-street-photography/IC Critical Review

IC Oral Presentation

IC Work in Progress

IC Grades

………………………..

Mick Yates. 2018. Choeung Ek. Prayer From Hell series.

Sustainable Prospects

A Conversation on Reality: https://www.yatesweb.com/a-conversation/

Beyond the Shadows – Judy Glickman Lauder: https://www.yatesweb.com/beyond-the-shadows-judy-glickman-lauder/

Daido Moriyama – Record: https://www.yatesweb.com/daido-moriyama-record/

David Hume – Photography’s Patron Philosopher: https://www.yatesweb.com/david-hume-photographys-patron-philosopher/

Digital: https://www.yatesweb.com/digital/

Gatiloke, Genocide and the Narrative: https://www.yatesweb.com/gatiloke-genocide-and-the-narrative/

SP Oral Presentation

SP Work in Progress

SP Grades

………………………..

Mick Yates. 2018. Paper Negatives. Traces series.

Surfaces & Strategies

Artificial Intelligence and Photography: https://www.yatesweb.com/dorothea-lange/

Cambodian Narrative: https://www.yatesweb.com/week-nine-reflections-cambodian-narrative/

Dark Tourism: https://www.yatesweb.com/dark-tourism/

Intimacy: https://www.yatesweb.com/intimacy/

Landscape, Context and WIP: https://www.yatesweb.com/week-ten-reflections-and-wip/

Negative Traces: https://www.yatesweb.com/negative-traces/

Philosophy and Post-Industrial Opium Dens – Vilém Flusser: https://www.yatesweb.com/philosophy-and-post-industrial-opium-dens-vilem-flusser/

Photographs without (my usual) Cameras: https://www.yatesweb.com/photographs-without-cameras/

S&S Oral Presentation

S&S Work in Progress

S&S Grades

………………………..

Mick Yates. 1994. What did you say? Huli Tribesmen, Papua New Guinea.

Positions & Practice

A Poet not a Logician: https://www.yatesweb.com/a-poet-not-a-logician/

Globalisation – a Personal Tale: https://www.yatesweb.com/globalisation-a-personal-tale/

Landscape: https://www.yatesweb.com/landscape/

Roland Barthes – Camera Lucida – An Ultimately Depressing book: https://www.yatesweb.com/roland-barthes-camera-lucida-an-ultimately-depressing-book/

The Camera as Judge and Executioner (Michelle Caswell): https://www.yatesweb.com/the-camera-as-judge-and-executioner/

The Cruel Landscape (Susie Linfield): https://www.yatesweb.com/the-cruel-radiance-susie-linfield/

Theory in Practice – Wassily Kandinsky: https://www.yatesweb.com/theory-in-practice-wassily-kandinsky/

P&P Oral Presentation

P&P Proposal

P&P Work in Progress

P&P Grades

………………………..

Header: Daido Moriyama. 1969. Accident Series.

Untold Stories – Stanley Greene

mickyates Documentary, Ideas, Journalism, Photography, Reportage, Unfinished Stories Leave a Comment

A friend pointed me towards this video of Stanley Greene talking about his life shortly before he died.

Stanley was a photojournalist and a poet. He comments that concerned photographers need to find and share untold stories.

‘I always believe you have to show the symbolism of a civilization, whether it be the cave drawings or somebody drawing in the sand in Darfur to show a massacre’.

‘Some things simply need to be seen’.

Exactly.

………………….

Header: Stanley Greene © Sara Shatz, NOOR

BJP. 2017. Obituary: Stanley Greene, photojournalist, 1949-2017. Available at: https://www.bjp-online.com/2017/05/obituary-stanley-greene-photojournalist-1949-2017/ (accessed 18/12/2019).

Stanley Greene. Black Passport. Available at: https://www.noorimages.com/black-passport (accessed 18/12/2019).